Since 1875 Wellesley has had a strong record in educating women scientists.

Wellesley's academic program was designed to meet the highest standards, with a primary emphasis on English, Mathematics, the Physical Sciences, and the Classics. Wellesley's physics laboratory for undergraduate instruction opened in 1878; it was the second such laboratory in the US, preceded only by MIT. Winifred Edgerton (class of 1883) earned a Ph.D. in mathematics at Columbia University in 1886, the first woman to earn any degree at Columbia. Dorothy Weeks '16 was the first woman to earn a doctorate in mathematics at MIT. Annie Jump Cannon (class of 1884) was the first woman awarded the National Academy of Sciences Henry Draper Medal, in 1931. In its 130-year history, Wellesley has had only 12 presidents, all women, two of whom were mathematicians.

Upcoming Events

Monday, Sept 15

The math department's student seminar kicks off for the semester.  Join us at 12:20 in room 362 for food and a mathematics talk by a fellow Wellesley math enthusiast.

Wednesday, Sept 17

This year's Math Games will be held from 4-6 in room 362 of the science center.  No particular mathematics experience is needed; bring your friends and come join the fun!

Monday, Sept 22

The weekly student seminar meets in room 362 at 12:20.  The department will provide lunch, and one of your peers will provide a great talk.  All are welcome to attend!

Tuesday, Sept 30

Dan Rockmore from Dartmouth College will deliver our annual Martha Davenport Heard lecture. The talk starts at 4:15, and afterwards we'll go to the College Club for dinner

Want e-updates?

Want to hear about the latest events in the math department via email?  Join the department's Google group by signing up here!