Mimi Murray
Professor of Exercise Science and Sport Studies, Springfield College

Mimi Murray
Mimi Murray, Professor at Springfield College, earned her Ph.D. from the University of Connecticut. During her six year as head coach of women’s gymnastics at Springfield College, her teams were undefeated in dual meet competition, won five Eastern Championships, and three Division I national Championships.

Dr. Murray coached the USA Team for the World University Games, was named “Coach of the Year” in gymnastics, and has been a commentator for ABC’s Wide World of Sports and NBC’s Sportsworld. She has been recognized by the Women’s Sports Foundation as one of five “Pioneers” in women’s athletics. Her textbook, Gymnastics for Women, is considered an authoritative source in sport.

As a sport psychology consultant, Dr. Murray has served with the USA Equestrian Team (Los Angeles Games). USA Field Hockey Team (Atlanta Games), and worked with many professional, collegiate, and high school athletes as well as coaches. Dr. Murray has made over 350 presentations worldwide and has 51 publications. Her strong academic credentials, experiences, and knowledge combined with her outstanding coaching successes make her a uniquely qualified expert in the area of sport psychology.

She has further served in various leadership positions, a few of which include: President of the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), Vice President of the United States Collegiate Sports Council (USCSC), President of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (AAHPERD) and currently as the President of the International Council of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport, and Dance (ICHPER-SD).

Dr. Murray has been the recipient of many awards and recognitions such as the Luther Halsey Gulick Award (AAHPERD’s highest honor), the R. Tait McKenzie Award, Honor Awards of AAHPERD, ICHPER-SD, and NAGWS, Ethics Fellow of the International Institute for the Study of Sport, and is a member of the Springfield College Athletic Hall of Fame.