Peggy Howard Fellowship

Each year the Department awards this fellowship which may include more than one grant for further study in economics.

The grants are available to Wellesley College undergraduates or alumnae both for post-graduate study and for special projects in economics. Funds vary in amount. This fellowship exists because of a gift to the College by Anne and Gordon Howard, parents of the late Peggy Howard (Wellesley `66). Peggy held the M.Sc. from the London School of Economics and the M.A. from Yale. She was active in founding the Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession, and in the Union for Radical Political Economics. She was working on her Ph.D. dissertation and teaching economics at Hampshire College when she died. The award recipients are announced at the annual department dinner, and for 2016-2017 the winners were Ljubica Ristovska '13 and Michelle Lam '14.

Other recent recipients:


Tejaswi Velayudhan ’10.


Emily Ann Cuddy '12

Cailey Djule Stevens '12

2013 - 2014

Nitya Pandalai Nayar  '07

Caitlin Kearns '10

Rebecca Cannon Fraenkel '11

2012 - 2013

Sheng (Leslie) Shen '10

Tejaswi Velayndhan '10

Lin Xu '10

Siobhan O'Keefe '10

Jahanara Ahmad '11