Departing Employee Checklist

Departing Employee Checklist

The following steps are highly recommended by LTS to help transfer the data of departing employees to their supervisor or new employee.  Please contact the Computing Help Desk at 781-283-3333 for any questions.

Tips for 2017-2018 VRP retirees

  1. Supervisor: Fill out the Departing User Form to notify LTS that an employee is leaving the College.
    • This lets LTS know what will be done with the employee’s phone and computer.
       
  2. Employee: Set a message on their email signature and voicemail.
    • As soon as you have announced you are leaving, set an out of office message on your voicemail and enable the vacation responder on your email.
    • Accounts are disabled at the end of the your last day as noted in Banner, at which point email sent to your account will be returned to sender and they will not receive your departing notifications.
       
  3. Employee: Change ownership on Google Drive files or move them to a Team Drive where others have "full access" permissions.
    • Follow Google’s documentation for transferring ownership of files and folders stored in Drive
    • Google Administrators can transfer all files owned by one person to another person, but cannot selectively transfer individual files and folders.
      • While the employee still has access to their account, they can request that LTS transfer ownership of all their Drive files to their supervisor by contacting the Help Desk.
      • If the employee has left the College, and before the account is deleted, their supervisor must email Ravi Ravishanker (CIO) and Carolyn Slaboden (VP of HR) to get approval to transfer files.
    • Warning: Google Drive files & folders owned by the departing employee will be deleted six months after their temination date and will be unrecoverable, so make sure file ownership is transferred as soon as possible.
       
  4. Employee: Transfer other work-related files, data, and program settings to their supervisor.
    • The departing employee should make sure any files related to their job are given to their supervisor. You may have files stored on the computer, NTM/Vault, Google, disks, or other places.
    • Your computer will be erased before giving it to a new employee, and the new employee will not have access to your files, except through your supervisor.
    • If any file or drive is encrypted, please make sure the files are decrypted when given to your supervisor, who can then encrypt them under their account.
    • If files are needed after the employee has left, and before the computer is re-imaged, the supervisor should email Ravi Ravishanker and Carolyn Slaboden to request approval for access.
       
  5. Employee: Download personal data and remove College-licensed software from your personal computer.
    • If you have personal emails, files, or other data in your Wellesley account, please download them before your account is disabled.
      • Be careful and make sure you DO NOT download any College data during this process.
      • See Google's directions to transfer emails from one account to another.  If these directions don't fit your needs, we also have instructions to transfer emails using Mozilla Thunderbird, contact the Help Desk for more information on this method.
      • Use Google Takeout to export any personal data you may have in your account.
    • Remove any software installed on your personal computers that came from the College, such as the work-from-home MS Office and Adobe licensed software, and AnyConnect VPN software.  Note: Retirees are not eligible to continue using the College's Office365 and Adobe subscription licenses as eligibility is based on active employment.
       
  6. Employee: Log out of iCloud on all College-owned Apple hardware.
    • Due to Apple’s security policies, you need to turn off Find my iPad/iMac and log out of your iCloud account before you leave.  Failure to do so will render the hardware unusable for employee that will need to use it after you have left the College.
       
  7. Supervisor:  Remove departing employee from specialized systems
    • If the supervisor controls accounts on systems not maintained by LTS, such as TMA and Medicat, they should make sure to remove the departing employee from those systems.
    • LTS will remove the departing employee from central systems such as Banner, datamart, NTM, and Vault based on the employee’s end date.
       
  8. Employee & Supervisor:  Review the account terminations table for account access details.
    • This table is part of the LTS Electronic Content Stewardship policy, and explains what access the employee and supervisor may have to the employee's data after their last work date.
       
  9. Special Circumstances: If the employee is keeping their account after leaving their position (changing positions, Alumna, Emeriti, President's Club, etc.):
    1. Google Apps: Your account will remain active, and no data will be deleted or altered by LTS.
      • Employee MUST remove access to data that is for the position they are leaving.  This is NOT done by LTS, as all Google sharing is done on an individual basis.
      • Employee should work with your supervisor to make sure you no longer have access to departmental data in Google Drive (shared files/folders), Sites, Groups, Calendars, and other Google apps.
      • Employee should work with their supervisor to transfer ownership of any files in Drive to their supervisor or other appropriate staff before they leave.
    2. Administrative Systems:  Supervisor or Employee should contact the Help Desk to make sure that the employee be removed from systems such as Banner ERP, NTM, Vault, etc.
    3. MyWellesley: Your view will be changed based on your updated status.
    4. Domain Account:  Your account will not be disabled after your last work date, but access to various sytems may change based on your updated status with the College.