Templeton Prize

The Dudley Folk Templeton Memorial Prize in Religion


Established by John M. Templeton in honor of his wife, Judith Dudley Folk Templeton, Class of 1934, the Templeton Prize is awarded to a current Wellesley senior for accomplished writing on Religion. All genres of writing on religion subjects–including essays, fiction, poems, editorials, and creative non-fiction–are welcome. The winner of the $500 Prize will be announced at Commencement!

Instructions: One submission only which can be written any time during the student's Wellesley career.

The 2019 deadline for submission is April 12th at 4:00pm. Please send your writing as a pdf to Wendy Forrester at wforrest@wellesley.edu.


Former prize recipients include:

2018 - Gloria Samen

2017 - Austen Aquino 

2016 - Cecilia Nowell

2015 - Emma van den Terrell

2014 - Julie Censullo

2013 - Rebecca McClain

2012 - Sara Putterman

1996 - Amy Yee

1984 - Sara Gottesman

1983 - Dorothy Harbeck