Student Spiritual Life

Wellesley’s many religious organizations allow students to maintain their religious and spiritual traditions, or explore new ones, in a supportive community setting.

To learn about weekly programs, services, and gatherings offered by Office of Religious and Spiritual Life chaplains: visit here!

+
Al-Muslimat

Al-Muslimat is a student-run organization for the Muslim Women of Wellesley College. Al-Muslimat, which means "The Muslim Women," was established in 1992, and has since been providing Islamic support services for women from various countries, traditions, cultures, and backgrounds. In addition to supporting Muslim women, Al-Muslimat promotes an understanding of Islam and issues related to Islam throughout the Wellesley College community.

Weekly Meeting: Mondays, 7:30-8:30pm, Multifaith Prayer Room

Student Leader: Aliyah Audil (aaudil@wellesley.edu), Zainab Jafiq (zjafiq@wellesley.edu

Advisor: Amira Quraishi, aquraish@wellesley.edu

 

Muslim Chaplain Offerings:

Jum'ah Prayers: Friday, 12:30 pm in the MFC Gathering Area. Followed by Jum'ah Lunch.

 

+
Asian Baptist Student Koinonia (ABSK)

Asian Baptist Sudent Koinonia (ABSK) is a community of Christians committed to fellowship with Jesus Christ and one other. Our goal is for others to come to know the love of God that we share. We meet every Friday for Bible Study, but we also love to cook, take trips, and share our lives together. Whether you're a Christian wanting to grow or simply want to know more about life, we invite you to come join us...you don't have to be Asian or Baptist!

Weekly Meeting: Thursdays, 7:30 pm, Lulu Wang Campus Center 415

Student Leader: Christine Kang (ckang2@wellesley.edu), Jamie Chung (jchung15@wellesley.edu) & Hanjaaram Cha (hcha2@wellesley.edu)

Advisors: Valerie Qian (valerie.k.qian@gmail.com) and Carolyn Kim (carolyn.d.kim@gmail.com

 
+
Awaken the Dawn

Awaken the Dawn exists to bring healing laced with truth and to give glory to God through excellence in music. We are an a capella group that spreads love of God through music.

We will meet twice a week in Jewett Auditorium for rehearsals.

Student Leaders: Ashley Peng (apeng@wellesley.edu), Shania Baldwin (sbaldwi3@wellesley.edu), & Michelle Yu (myu4@wellesley.edu)

Advisor: Sarah Robbins-Cole, srobbin3@wellesley.edu

+
Black Women’s Ministry

Black Women's Ministry is a Christian group which aims to spiritually nourish its members and foster belonging and siblinghood on Wellesley's campus. Ministry members participate in weekly bible studies, community service, on and off-campus social events, go to church together, host worship nights on campus, and attend gospel concerts/conferences together. We are beyond excited to welcome the class of 2023 to Wellesley and look forward to bringing our new siblings into BWM’s community!

Student Leaders: Kia Barclay (kbarclay@wellesley.edu) & Nellie Philius (nphilius@wellesley.edu)

Advisors: Taylor Stewart (taylor_stewart@mail.harvard.edu) & Tracey Cameron (tcameron@wellesley.edu)

 
+
Citylife Presbyterian Church

Student Leaders: Chelsie Ahn (cahn@wellesley.edu), Katrina Lin, Danielle Peterson (dpeterso@wellesley.edu), Catherine Stauber (cstauber@wellesley.edu)

Advisor: Daniel Paik (daniel@citylifeboston.org)

+
Cru Wellesley Christian Fellowship

The purpose of Cru Wellesley Christian Fellowship is to create a safe space where all students can come and explore the person of Jesus Christ in the context of Christian community. We meet in weekly Bible studies, host social events each month, participate in Cru Boston activities and events, connect Wellesley students with local churches, and encourage friendships amongst both Christian women and those who are exploring questions of faith. This organization also aims to aid Christians in their spiritual growth and to teach members how to articulate their faith. We also work closely with the Cru Boston Metro Ministry.

Weekly Meeting: Lulu Chow Wang Campus Center

Student Leader: Alice Wang, awang12@wellesley.edu; Tema Shongwe, tshongwe@wellesley.edu, & Cindy Peraza, cperaza@wellesley.edu

Advisor: Jena Glasscock (jena.glasscock@cru.org), Sharon Kumar (sharon.kumar@cru.org) Soo Hong (shong@wellesley.edu)

 
+
Darshana

Darshana is Wellesley's Hindu student organization and provides a great sense of community for many Hindu students. Darshana gathers weekly for prayer and discussion and to study the Bhagvad Gita, a famous Hindu text. In addition, Darshana holds campus wide celebrations of holidays, such as Diwali and Holi, and meets with other colleges in the Boston area once a semester for retreats, conferences, and temple-trips. All who are curious about Hinduism are more than welcome to join.

Weekly Meeting: Sundays, 10am, Multifaith Center Meditation Room (Worship at 11am)

Student Leader: Maya Mubayi (mmubayi@wellesley.edu), Sanjana Thakur (sanjana.thakur@wellesley.edu), Eashaa Jampala (ejampala@wellesley.edu), Nisha Mital (nmital@wellesley.edu)

Other Hindu Offerings: 

Puja: Sunday, 11:00 am in the MFC Meditation Room & Wednesday, 10:00 am in the MFC Main Room

+
Hillel

Hillel is a student organization dedicated to exploring, celebrating, and educating about all elements of Jewish life- cultural, spiritual, social, and religious. We host weekly Kabbalat Shabbat services and dinners, holiday services and celebrations, lectures, film screenings, mixers, and much much more!

Shabbat Services: Friday, 5:30 pm in the MFC Gathering Space. Followed by Shabbat Dinner in the Hillel Lounge.

Student Leaders: Alyssa Fishbein (afishbei@wellesley.edu)

Advisor: Rabbi Dena Bodian (dbodian@wellesley.edu)

+
Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship Wellesley Intervarsity seeks to spread the good news of the Gospel through outreach, Bible studies, and fellowship; we seek to challenge students in their relationships with the Lord and to provide a community supportive to spiritual growth. Ultimately, we hope to see students come into personal relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ and to commit their lives to following Him. We hope to facilitate this through large and small Bible studies, one-on-one groups, and community events.

Weekly Meeting: Two weekly Bible studies: Thursday nights 7pm in the Multifaith Center and Tuesday nights (contact for time and location).

Student Leaders: Grace Gilberg (ggilberg@wellesley.edu), Jacquelyn Floyd (jfloyd3@wellesley.edu) & Julia Monaco (jmonaco@wellesley.edu)

Advisor: Fanchesca Burgos (franchesca.burgos@intervarsity.org) & Markella Rutherford (mrutherf@wellesley.edu)

 
+
Latter-Day Saints Student Association (LDSSA)

Latter-Day Saints Student Association (LDSSA) supports Wellesley College students who are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The group provides a space where members of the Church can learn and worship together as well as strengthen each other in faith. As a family, LDSSA holds weekly Family Home Evening, hosts on-campus institute, travels together to a YSA ward in Cambridge, and fellowship and has fun as a Wellesley group and with other Boston Mormons.

Student Leaders: Adrienne Klusey (aklusey@wellesley.edu), Portia Silver (psilver@wellesley.edu), & Hillary Slater (hslater@wellesley.edu)

Advisor: John Thompson (thompsonjs@ldschurch.org)

 
+
Newman Catholic Ministry

The Wellesley College Newman Catholic Community seeks to foster an environment that strengthens one’s spirituality and understanding of the Roman Catholic Church.  Embracing Cardinal Newman’s ideology that intellect and spirit go hand in hand, the Newman Catholic Community  hopes to become  living witnesses as educated, passionate, and faithful Catholic leaders.  Respecting the dignity of every person, The Newman Catholic Community  challenges one another to “love your neighbor as yourself.”

Mass: Sunday, 4:00 pm in the Chapel

Newman Gathering: Sunday, 5:00 pm in the MFC Main Room

Student Leaders: Rebecca Riley, rriley2@wellesley.edu

 
+
Symphony Church

Student Leaders: Joanna Linn (jlinn@wellesley.edu), Michelle Chin (mchin2@wellesley.edu)

Advisors: Chan Park (cpark41@gmail.com), Sarah Robbins-Cole (srobbin3@wellesley.edu)

+
Other Affiliated Groups

College CornerStone

Student Leaders: Rachael Hwang (chwang2@wellesley.edu), Anne Kim (akim22@wellesley.edu)

Advisors: Danny Yoon (danny@cornerstoneboston.org)

 

InterCollegiate

Student Leaders: Gloria Liu (gliu4@wellesley.edu), Alice Choe (achoe2@wellesley.edu), Joyce Zhao (jzhao2@wellesley.edu)

Advisors: David Eng (deng@cbcgb.org)

 

Wellesley Christians on Campus

Student Leaders: Phoebe Kao (pkao2@wellesley.edu), Alicia Lee (alee31@wellesley.edu)

Advisors: Diana Hsu (dianasuarr@gmail.com)