Sed Ministrare Volunteer Award

The Alumnae Association created the Sed Ministrare Volunteer Award to honor and celebrate outstanding volunteer service to Wellesley College.

Sed Ministrare Award

The Alumnae Association created the Sed Ministrare Volunteer Award in 2014 to recognize dedicated volunteer service to Wellesley College. The outstanding efforts of these women fulfill the Alumnae Association’s mission to support the institutional priorities of Wellesley by connecting alumnae to the College and to one another. Their service exceptionally embodies the motto, "Non Ministrari sed Ministrare." The award is presented annually at Wellesley BLUEprint.

Please join us in congratulating the 2018 recipients!
Teresita Ramos ’93 is admired as someone who “has never said no when asked to stand up for Wellesley.” She served as reunion chair for the 20th reunion of the class of 1993, and then served as the class president through the 25th Reunion in 2018. Tere has been an alumnae admission representative, the club secretary for the Southeastern Michigan club, a selection committee member for the Alumnae Achievement Awards, and secretary for the Wellesley Latina Network. Tere also served on the board of directors of Wellesley Student Aid and was part of the panel for Memories Night, a WCAA-sponsored student event during which alumnae reflect upon their time at Wellesley and share how the campus culture was similar and different than today. Tere has been a dedicated Wellesley volunteer in myriad ways for decades and her work has been of great benefit across the alumnae community.
Erika Spitzer ’06 channels her enthusiasm for her local Wellesley community to help the Wellesley Club of Los Angeles (WCLA) thrive with an active calendar of events for over 1,100 alumnae. Involved for the past six years, and club president for the past four, Erika has built alumnae engagement throughout the large area the WCLA encompasses. She has pursued collaborations with neighboring clubs in Santa Barbara, San Diego, and Pasadena, as well as with professional communities and shared identity groups. Erika is described as being open and encouraging while supporting the evolution of WCLA events, board positions, and communications based on board member ideas and interests. Erika began volunteering for Wellesley as an alumnae admission representative, managing college fairs and hosting prospective student events. Her guiding support and inclusiveness are an asset to the WCLA and the College. 
Jody Strakosch ’79 has been a committed volunteer for Wellesley in almost every way possible. She began in the ’80s as a class representative, for the Office for Resources, and subsequently served on the class nominating committee and as its chair. Currently, Jody is the president of her class, proudly leading it to a bright yellow 40th Reunion next June. A vital member of the Wellesley Club of Minnesota, for the last 13 years Jody has also been a club officer. Jody has shared her talents in the positions of programming chair, benefits chair, and club president. In addition, Jody has served on the WCAA board as the annual giving chair. Those who have volunteered with Jody call her “a fountain of knowledge” who has “served in consistent and dedicated fashion over many decades.” 




Nominate someone for the 2020 award here.

Nominations for 2020 awards will be accepted until April 1.