Faculty Housing

Faculty Residential Community

The majority of Wellesley College students live on campus.  In keeping with the value the College places on its residential community, the College also maintains a faculty housing program to enable a sizable proportion of its faculty members to live in proximity to the campus.  The College invests in the value of a residential community in two ways; first by offering over 100 units of rental accommodation of different types within walking distance of campus; second by offering an advantageous mortgage plan for faculty members who receive tenure and who wish to live in Wellesley or in towns part of all of which fall within a ten-mile radius of Green Hall.  View the faculty mortgage program here:  

Rental Housing:

The faculty housing program is open to members of the faculty and certain administrative officers.  It is not always possible to provide rental accommodations to all members of the faculty who might wish for it, and under these conditions the program offers priority and more favorable rental rate to tenure-track faculty members and to new faculty in the first six years of an appointment.  Nevertheless, the College makes every effort to provide rental housing for lecturers, visiting fellows and other non-tenure track faculty on appointments that are half-time or greater, and holds rates below market value for all untenured faculty.  The faculty housing office is usually able to find housing for interested faculty members.  

Rules and regulations for faculty housing are established by the Faculty Benefits Committee, who membership includes representatives of the faculty and the administration.

All residents are subject to zoning and other regulations of the Town of Wellesley regarding fire control, animal control, safety, sanitation and other matters of public concern.

The College endeavors to maintain its rental properties in good condition, and to provide safe, comfortable residences with reasonable services. The total number of units offered is 101, of which 61 units are apartments and 40 are houses.