Meet the staff of the Office of the Provost 
and Dean of the College


Robbin Chapman is the associate provost and academic director of diversity and inclusion and supports the College’s diversity and inclusion priorities. Robbin teams with two colleagues from the staff and student areas to advance the priorities of the Partnerships for Diversity and Inclusion. She also works closely with the Pforzheimer Learning and Teaching Center on faculty development and student achievement issues, and with academic departments as they conduct searches for new faculty members. More > >


Rachael Coombes is an administrative assistant in the Office of the Provost and Dean of the College, providing support to Robbin Chapman and Ruth Frommer. Rachael handles scheduling, meeting logistics, diversity programming and project assistance, and supports the work of the Committee on Faculty Appointments. She also maintains the office website.



Liz Demski is the director of the Office of Sponsored Research. She supports faculty members by providing information about appropriate sources of external grant and fellowship support for their research and works with them to prepare grant proposals and budgets. In addition, she serves as a liaison to faculty on responsibilities relating to grant administration and compliance with regulations concerning expenditure of federal funds.


Ruth Frommer is the assistant dean of the college for faculty appointments. Ruth manages and supports the work of the Committee on Faculty Appointments (CFA) and the Advisory Committee on Merit relating to faculty reappointment, tenure, promotion, merit, and sabbatical leave decisions. She acts as the liaison between the Provost and Dean of Faculty Affairs, CFA and merit committee members, Reappointments and Promotions committees, and faculty under review. In addition, Ruth is responsible for faculty leave eligibility and the leave application process for sabbaticals, early leaves, and professional development leaves as well as managing SEQ access for faculty.


Kristen Gallagher is the faculty information administrator in the Office of the Provost and Dean of the College and reports to Mary Pat Navins. She is responsible for all administrative information processes relating to faculty regarding salaries, leaves, and contracts; handles staffing requests; and serves as the faculty liaison to LTS. She also supports the Ruhlman Committee and the Committee on Faculty Awards and maintains the Faculty Handbook.


Jessica Gaudreau is the budget analyst and an administrative assistant in the Office of the Provost and Dean of the College reporting to Mary Pat Navins. She maintains the financial records for conference travel, faculty awards, educational research and development, and named professorships. She administers the elections for committees of Academic Council.



Mary Pat Navins is the assistant provost for academic budget and planning. She supports the work of the provost in all budgetary and financial matters. Specific responsibilities include overseeing academic division budgets, approval of financial forms, reviewing programmatic budgets and endowed funds, and oversight of the business operations of the academic division. Mary Pat supports the Commitee on Faculty Awards, the Educational Research & Development Committee, and the Agenda Committee.


Kathy Sanger is the office manager and assistant to the provost and dean of the college. She provides direct support to the Provost and two deans, manages communication with internal and external constituencies, schedules appointments for the provost and deans with committees and individuals, and manages various projects for department. She is responsible for the day-to-day office operations.



Beccah Wells Sparkes is the assistant provost for operations and planning. She supports the work of the provost in all facility renovation projects and campus-wide technology initiatives.