All philosophy courses are classified into three sub-fields, reflecting the basic branches of the subject:

  • history of philosophy
  • value theory
  • metaphysics and theories of knowledge

Descriptions and Distributions

  • You can find a description of each sub-field here.
  • You can see which courses fall into which sub-field here.
  • You can see how these subfields relate to the department's Major / Minor requirements here.
  • You can see which courses satisfy which College-level distribution requirements here.

Contact Us

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Founders Hall 322
Wellesley College
106 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02481
Tel: 781.283.2620

Mary Kate McGowan
Department Chair