Wellesley College is accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education.

Accreditation of an institution of higher education by the Commission indicates that it meets or exceeds criteria for the assessment of institutional quality periodically applied though a peer review process. An accredited college or university is one which has available the necessary resources to achieve its stated purposes through appropriate educational programs, is substantially doing so, and gives reasonable evidence that it will continue to do so in the foreseeable future. Institutional integrity is also addressed through accreditation.

Accreditation by the Commission is not partial but applies to the institution as a whole. As such, it is not a guarantee of every course or program offered, or the competence of individual graduates. Rather, it provides reasonable assurance about the quality of opportunities available to students who attend the institution.

Inquiries regarding the accreditation status by the Commission should be directed to the Office of Institutional Research. Individuals may also contact:

New England Commission of Higher Education
3 Burlington Woods Drive, Suite 100, Burlington, MA 01803-4514
(781) 425 7785
E-Mail: info@neche.org

Once every ten years, the College undergoes re-accreditation, and the College's next accreditation visit will come in 2029.

A copy of the documents describing the school’s accreditation, approval or licensing may be viewed below:

2020 NECHE for General Approval of Online or Remote Education

2019 NECHE Response

2019 NECHE Evaluation

2019 Self Study

2015 NEASC Response

2014 Interim Report

2010 NEASC Response

2009 NEASC Evaluation

2009 Self Study

Accreditation Steering Committee

  • Bryan Burns, Classical Studies (co-chair)
  • Pamela Taylor, Institutional Research (co-chair)
  • Marianne Cooley, AVP & Secretary of the Board (staff)

  • Stacie Goddard, Political Science
  • Irene Mata, Women’s & Gender Studies
  • Phyllis McGibbon, Art
  • Megan Nuñez, Chemistry
  • Carlos Ramos, Spanish
  • Ismar Volić, Mathematics
  • Akila Weerapana, Economics

  • Aviva Feldman, Spanish ’19
  • Megumi Murakami ’20
  • Kindred Obas, English ’19
  • Tory Roth, Chemistry ’18
  • Ally Uchitelle ’20

  • Paula Johnson, President
  • Andy Shennan, Provost and Dean of the College
  • Carol Bate, Associate Dean of Students
  • Elizabeth Gildersleeve, Chief Communications Officer
  • Sheilah Horton, VP & Dean of Students
  • Joy St. John, Dean of Admission & Student Financial Services
  • Piper Orton, VP of Finance & Administration
  • Karen Petrulakis, General Counsel
  • Ann Velenchik, Dean of Academic Affairs

  • Debby Kuenstner, Chief Investment Officer
  • Thea Louis ’20
  • Avery Lumeng ’21
  • Maya Nandakumar ’19
  • Carolyn Slaboden, AVP for Human Resources & EO