Commission on Ethnicity, Race, and Equity

fall foliage with a few people walking around

Presidential Commission on Ethnicity, Race, and Equity

Founded under President Kim Bottomly in 2015, the Presidential Commission on Race, Ethnicity and Equity (CERE) was originally charged with charting out a comprehensive plan to address inequities related to race and ethnicity on campus. Since then, the commission has evolved to become what it is today: a multi-constituency body that thinks collectively about equity at the college, and advises the President of the college on pressing issues related to equity, broadly defined.

In recent years, the commission has weighed in on a range of issues affecting equity on campus life, including the future of public safety at the college, the pathway to an equity-focused curriculum, building stronger relationships between faculty, staff, and administration, and community-wide dialogues related to difficult conversations. More recently, CERE has focused on developing strategies for addressing the promotion and retention of diverse faculty and staff and collaborates with other committees on campus to promote equity on our campus and facilitate conversations between the Office of the President, the Office of the Provost and official committees of Academic Council.

2019-2020 CERE Members

  • Smitha Radhakrishnan
    Smitha Radhakrishnan
    Chair, Associate Professor of Sociology
  • Diego Arciniegas
    Diego Arciniegas
    Senior Lecturer in Theatre Studies
  • Cal Bullitt
    Cal Bullitt
    Multicultural Affairs Coordinator, Class of 2021
  • Beth deSombre
    Beth deSombre
    Camilla Chandler Frost Professor of Environmental Studies
  • Jennifer Duan
    Jennifer Duan
    Class of 2021
  • Nikki Greene
    Nikki Greene
    Assistant Professor of Art
  • Brenna Greer
    Brenna Greer
    Assistant Professor of History
  • Soo Hong
    Soo Hong
    Associate Professor of Education
  • Carolina Jimenez
    Carolina Jimenez
    Class of 2021
  • Erich Matthes
    Erich Matthes
    Assistant Professor of Philosophy
  • Inés Maturana Sendoya
    Inés Maturana Sendoya
    Associate Dean of Students for Inclusion and Engagement
  • Sheilah Shaw-Horton
    Sheilah Shaw-Horton
    Dean of Students
  • Joy St. John
    Joy St. John
    Dean of Admission
  • Pamela Taylor
    Pamela Taylor
    Assistant Provost of Institutional Planning
  • Cammie Valdez
    Cammie Valdez
    Director of the McNair Scholars Program; Visiting Lecturer in Biological Sciences
  • Tyler Vargas
    Tyler Vargas
    Class of 2021