Provost's & Deans' Responsibilities

The provost has overall responsibility for all aspects
of the academic life at Wellesley College.

The responsibilities of the Office of the Provost and Dean of the College are distributed among the provost and the deans. These responsibilities outlined below are:  Major Areas of Responsibility, Department and Program Assignments, Committee Assignments, and Direct Reports.

  Andrew Shennan
Provost & Dean of the College
Ann Velenchik
Dean of Academic Affairs
Megan Núñez
Dean of Faculty Affairs
Major Areas of Responsibility Strategic planning
Faculty appointments
Academic programs and budgets
Curricular matters:
instructional and academic development
academic innovation
instructional technology
institutional research
student learning and assessment
Faculty appointments
Faculty development and resources
Diversity and Inclusion
Department and Program Assignments
Physical Education, Recreation & Athletics
American Studies
Astronomy (and Astrophysics)
Biological Chemistry
Biological Sciences
Cognitive and Linguistic Sciences
Computer Science
Environmental Studies
International Relations
Political Science
Quantitative Reasoning
Women's and Gender Studies
Writing Program
Africana Studies
Cinema and Media Studies (CAMS)
Classical Studies
Comparative Literature
East Asian Languages and Cultures
East Asian Studies
French (and French Cultural Studies)
German (and German Studies)
Italian Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Media Arts and Sciences
Medieval/Renaissance Studies
Middle Eastern Studies
Peace and Justice Studies
Russian (and Russian Area Studies)
South Asia Studies
Theatre Studies



Committee Assignments
Advisory Committee on Academic Staffing (ACAS)
Advisory Committee on Merit (chair)
Agenda Committee
Budget Advisory Committee
Committee on Faculty Appointments (chair)
Domestic Incident Response Team
Honor Code Hearing Review Panel
International Safety Committee
International Study Committee
Academic Review Board
Advisory Committee on Academic Staffing (ACAS)
Committee on Curriculum and Academic Policy (chair)
Advisory Committee on Academic Staffing (ACAS)
Advisory Committee on Merit

Committee on Faculty Appointments

Faculty Benefits Committee
 Direct Reports
- Associate Provost and Academic Director of Diversity and Inclusion (TBD)
- Associate Provost and Director of Strategic Growth (Nancy Coleman)
-Assistant Provost for Institutional Planning and Assessment (Pamela Taylor)
- Assistant Provost for Faculty Affairs (Ruth Frommer)
- Chief Information Officer and Associate Provost (Ravi Ravishanker)
- Executive Director of the Wellesley Centers for Women (Layli Maparyan)
- Director of Athletics and Chair of Physical Education, Recreation and Athletics (Bethany Ellis)
- Director of the Davis Museum and Cultural Center (Lisa Fischman)
- Director of International Studies (Jennifer Thomas-Starck)
- Director of the Madeleine Korbel Albright Institute for Global Affairs (Rebecca Gordan)
-Director of the Newhouse Center for the Humanities (Eve Zimmerman)
- Director of the Office of Sponsored Research (Liz Demski)
- Director of the Science Center (Cathy Summa)
-Manager of Academic Budget & Financial Operations (Aimee Huff)
-Building Director, Knapp Social Sciences Center (Olga Shurchkov)
-Faculty Director of the Child Study Center (Maureen Morgan)
-Director of the Botanic Gardens (Kristina Jones)
- Associate Provost and Academic Director of Diversity and Inclusion (TBD)(dotted line)
- Clerk of the Commitee on Faculty Appointments (Jen Ellis)
- Director of the Pforzheimer Learning     and Teaching Center (Oscar Fernandez)
- Director of the Office of Sponsored   Research (Liz Demski) (dotted line)