Resources and Policies
Please carry your key with you at all times! Your roommate may lock your door and the Maintenance Department's policy is to lock room doors when they complete a work request.
- There is a $10 charge for the Area Coordinator or a Campus Police officer to unlock your door.
- The fee will then be charged to your college bill.
- Please observe the following schedule when seeking assistance:
Call your Area Coordinator: Monday to Thursday 9am- 11pm and Friday 9am-5pm.
Call Campus Police: Monday to Thursday 11pm-9am and Friday 5pm- All weekend
How to Make a Request:
1. Make an appointment to meet or speak with someone from the office of Disability Services or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Entering first year and transfer students will want to make first contact by filling out the Disability Services Information Form on the portal.
2. Complete the appropriate request form for the type of accommodation being requested. Any time during the year, individuals may fill out a request form to initiate a request for accommodations.
We encourage students to begin packing before exam period. Students may store belongings in their current hall only.
Please note that all storage in the residence halls is at your own risk. Only students returning to residence halls for the following semester may store belongings. Graduating seniors and students going on leave or exchange may not store their belongings on campus.
Do not use residence hall storage for any item that you may need before the halls open in the fall. Access to storage areas will not be available until that then. You will not be allowed to drop-off items into your room during the summer due to the preparation of the halls.
Storage labels will be generated by the Office of Residential Life. Your Area Coordinator or Resident Director will inform you of the procedure for distribution of labels.
You must move your own belongings into the storage areas.
Label Distribution and Use:
- Rising sophomores, juniors and seniors returning to residence for the fall semester will receive storage labels which must be attached to all stored items.
- Students within a 300-mile radius of the college will receive no storage labels.
- Students residing within a 300-600 mile radius and who live in Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania will receive 2 storage labels.
- All other rising sophomores, juniors and seniors will receive 4 storage labels.
- The label should indicate your name, class, extension, and residence hall for fall term.
- The space restrictions will not allow for students to share labels. The above number of labels will determine the maximum number of boxes allowed per student in the storage rooms on campus.
Storage Item Specifications:
Each student is allowed to store one item per label, within the following limits:
1 refrigerator (2.5 cub. ft.) cleaned & defrosted, for one label. Taller are 2 labels
1 suitcase for one label
1 plastic, heavy-duty bag for one label
1 boxed bicycle must have 2 labels attached
1 plastic bin 22" 16" 16"
Absolutely NO rugs, furniture, bookcases, loose items, unboxed bikes, or oversized boxes of any kind may be stored. Such items will be removed and discarded. You may not leave anything outside the storage area. Items left improperly will be discarded, and a $50 fine per item will be charged.
You must be able to lift your own boxes without assistance to any shelf in the storage room. Please be aware of the weight of your boxes.
Please note that items may be rearranged to maximize space and your items may not be exactly where you left them when you return in the fall.
When you are ready to store your belongings, be sure your storage items clearly display the label with your name and fall residence hall.
The safety of College employees, faculty, students and visitors is paramount. It is crucial that the college facilities are maintained in a condition that will allow for quick and safe evacuation in the event of an emergency. This policy will outline the state and local regulatory requirements designed to provide good fire prevention practices as well as maintaining safe egress (exit) routes.
View the College’s complete policy on Decorations in the residence halls
At Wellesley College we all have responsibility for fire and life safety. An important part of each person’s responsibility is being familiar with your surroundings and following these guidelines to ensure the safe and timely evacuation of all building occupants during a man-made or natural emergency:
Locate the two exit pathways from your space. Count the number of doors between your room and the exits. This can assist you during an emergency evacuation.
Know where the fire alarm pull stations on your floor are so they may be activated in the event of a potential life-threatening emergency.
Do not block fire extinguishers and other fire safety equipment – maintain these areas for quick and easy access at all times.
Keep egress paths clear - this includes hallways and stairwells. Do not store furniture, file cabinets, etc in these areas.
Ensure that fire doors are kept closed at all times.
A maximum of three overnight guests are allowed with permission of your roommate(s). You may have an overnight guest(s) for three nights within a week (seven-day) time period beginning each Monday.
Statement of Purpose:
Wellesley College is committed to providing an environment of well-being, learning, and accountability for its members. To this end, the Wellesley College Alcohol and Other Drugs Policy is grounded in four community standards derived from the Honor Code:
- Compliance with governing law and College policies;
- Respect for the Wellesley College community by minimizing the impact of alcohol and other drug use upon others;
- Care for one’s own health and well-being; and
- Prevention of harm and seeking of assistance and support for self or others.
This policy informs students of their individual, group, and community responsibilities regarding alcohol and other drugs, the College's response to violations, and the resources available for addressing alcohol and other drug-related concerns. Campus Police and Residential Life Professional Staff have primary responsibility for enforcement of this policy.
Candles, incense or other open flames
Cooking, heating appliance in Residence Halls
Storage in hallways and common spaces
Decorations or furnishings that constrict or block exit path
Live Christmas trees and/or lights
Smoking inside Residence Halls is not permitted and you must be at least 20 feet from the building if you are smoking outside.
Infraction Minimum Fine
Extra cleaning charge (room in disarray) $25/hour
Missing Furniture Cost of Replacement
Damage to Room/Furniture Cost of Repair
College Property Found in Room $10 per item
Failure To Turn in Room Key (Housing fine) $30
Tampering with door closure mechanism & door lock Cost of Repair
Failure to reassemble furniture/Flip Bed $25
Large items abandoned in room $50 (Removal cost)
Failure to vacate room on time $50 per hour after posted time
Illegally Stored Items in Residence Hall Storage Area $50/Item
Tampering/Disabled/Damaged Smoke Detector $250
Open flames, candles or burning incense in rooms $100
Blocking Fire exists $250
Use of illegal use of appliances in room $50 (illegal appliances are: halogen
lamps, 5 headed lamps, rice cookers, coffee post, rice cookers, microwaves, hot pots)
Unsupervised hot pots, electric kettles, cooking $50
Intentional or malicious setting off of fire alarm $500
Disturbing Quiet Hours (after warning) $25 minimum fine/occupant of room
Violation of overnight guest policy $50/night
Unescorted Guests / Illegal Entry into Hall $50 minimum
Unexcused absence from mandatory floor meeting $50
Unexcused absence from mandatory All-House meeting $50
Illegal pets $100 minimum
Items left outside of storage room will be thrown away
Items left in hallway $10/item after warning
Smoking tobacco of any kind in cigarette or hookah $25/1st violation*
Within 25 feet of building
Alcohol in common space $25/item
*Students who violate the Residential Hall Smoking policy by smoking within 25 feet of any Residential building will receive a $25 fine upon the first violation. Upon subsequent violations, the fine will increase incrementally by $10 per violation (that is $35 for the second violation, $45 for the third, etc) After 3 violations, the student will be sent to Residence Judiciary.