Zoom Security and Privacy Tips

Security and Privacy Tips

Find a quiet, private area with an internet connection (for video) for participating in your zoom meeting. Remember that participants may disclose information that should not be broadly or publicly shared.

If you are unable to participate in a quiet and private location, you should have a headset with microphone in order to protect participants.

Notify students/participants before the meeting begins if you will be recording. For classes, students who do not want to be recorded may choose not to participate. If you are recording the class, be clear with the students about who will have access to the recording and under what circumstances.

Make sure to end the meeting and close the zoom.us app when your meeting is complete make sure any audio/video connections and capture are turned off.

See instructions below to review in-meeting security settings. For a complete overview of security settings, please review the Zoom Security Tips Google doc. (Wellesley sign-in required)

 

Scheduling Requirements

For security purposes it’s required that either the passcode or waiting room be enabled for any Zoom meeting. 

When scheduling a meeting in your Wellesley account, the waiting room is automatically enabled. The waiting room in Wellesley Zoom accounts is set to “Users not in your account will go in the waiting room.” Meaning that the waiting room acts as a filter - any Wellesley user who is signed in to their Zoom application will bypass the waiting room and automatically join a meeting.

See Scheduling and Launching a Zoom Meeting for scheduling instructions.

Security In-Meeting Settings

The Host and Co-Hosts have access to several in-meeting security controls such as mute participants, choose who can screen share, who can turn on their camera or mic, etc. To see an overview of all controls, check out Zoom’s guide to Host Controls.

The main in-meeting security controls are found in Security and the Participants window. Select the icon from the bottom toolbar to open the window.

 

Security

Settings below “Allow participants to:” apply to participant interaction. Anything unchecked will prevent all participants from doing that function. 

  • For small meetings and classes it’s fine to leave everything under “Allow participants to” checked.

  • For public events, it’s best to uncheck at least Share Screen and Unmute Themselves.

Co-Hosts are able to do all functions even if it's disabled in Security.

Do not select Lock Meeting. No more participants will be able to join.

 

Participants Window

Select Participants from the bottom toolbar to see the participants window. The Host and Co-Hosts can manage participants from this window by muting, turning off camera, renaming participants, assigning Co-Hosts, Mute All, etc.

 

The Host and Co-Hosts are not able to unmute a mic or turn on another participant’s camera. If a participant’s mic or camera is off, the Host and Co-Host can hover over the participant's name and select Ask to Unmute or More>Ask to Start Video.

 

For public events, to ensure everyone starts with a muted mic, open the participants window and select More at the bottom right. Check Mute All Upon Entry. This setting can also be enabled when the meeting is scheduled. When Mute All Upon Entry is enabled and Unmute Themselves is disabled, participants will join with their mic off and won’t be able to unmute.